Wednesday, 15 November 2017 00:00

Australia elected to World Heritage Committee

Australia has been elected to the UNESCO World Heritage Committee by the General Assembly of States Parties to the World Heritage Convention, to serve a four year term, concluding in November 2021.

Australia joins 20 other States Parties currently on the Committee: Angola, Azerbaijan, , Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, China, Cuba, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Norway, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Spain, Tunisia, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zimbabwe.

The World Heritage Committee meets once a year is responsible for the implementation of the World Heritage Convention, defines the use of the World Heritage Fund and allocates financial assistance upon requests from States Parties. It has the final say on whether a property is inscribed on the World Heritage List, monitors their proper management and decides on the inscription or deletion of properties on the List of World Heritage in Danger.

Australia has 19 sites inscribed on the World Heritage List, including the Sydney Opera House, Uluru-Kata Tjuta, Kakadu, the Royal Exhibition Building in Melbourne, mammal fossil sites at Riversleigh and Naracoorte, and the Great Barrier Reef.

Australia was a founding member of the World Heritage Convention in 1974 and has served four times on the World Heritage Committee, most recently from 2007 to 2011.

Upcoming Events

Heritage Book Releases