Wednesday, 19 July 2017 10:38

Call for entries to Victorian Premier's History Award

The Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews has renamed the Victorian Community History Award as the Victorian Premier’s History Award and has called for historians, writers, curators and content producers to enter their historical projects before entries close on Wednesday 2 August.

The most outstanding historical work will be awarded the newly-named Victorian Premier’s History Award.

Previous winners include:

  • Pam Baragwanath and Ken James for These Walls Speak Volumes: A History of Mechanics’ Institutes

  • Meredith Fletcher for her book on the celebrated botanist Jean Galbraith: Writer in a Valley

  • Maree Coote for The Art of Being Melbourne

The winner of the Victorian Premier’s History Award will receive a $5000 prize.

A History Publication Award, Cultural Diversity History Award and Multimedia Award are among the other awards in the Victorian Community History Awards program, which has a total prize pool of $19,000.

The annual awards are run by the Public Record Office Victoria in partnership with the Royal Historical Society of Victoria to recognise and celebrate contributions made by Victorians to preserve Victoria’s history for future generations to share, enjoy and learn from.

To enter in the awards, go to

Upcoming Events

Heritage Book Releases